Ovarian Cancer Canada

Western Regional Blog – BC, YK, AB, NWT and Nunavut

Inside Knowledge: Get the Facts About Gynecologic Cancer


The Inside Knowledge: Get the Facts About Gynecologic Cancer campaign raises awareness of the five main types of gynecologic cancer: cervical, ovarian, uterine, vaginal, and vulvar. It encourages women to pay attention to their bodies and know what is normal for them, so they can recognize the warning signs of gynecologic cancers and seek medical care. When gynecologic cancers are found early, treatment is most effective.

About the Campaign

Inside Knowledge supports the Gynecologic Cancer Education and Awareness Act of 2005, or Johanna’s Law. [PDF-49KB] The law is named for Johanna Silver Gordon, who died of ovarian cancer in 2000. Johanna’s sister, Sheryl Silver, originated the legislation in 2002 and, with the support of numerous nonprofit organizations, helped ensure its passage. The campaign’s target audiences include women and health professionals. Learn more about the development of Inside Knowledge. [PDF-2.2MB]

You can also see the campaign’s major highlights, milestones, and activities [PDF-1.8MB] accomplished in 2012.

Support and Resources

Additional resources are available related to the five main gynecologic cancers, cervical, ovarian, uterine, vaginal and vulvar, including links to general information, patient support services, and research and provider organizations.

Complementary and Alternative Therapies


Research in BC

The Injustices of Ovarian Cancer

Ovarian Cancer Canada

%d bloggers like this: